Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Carmelita's. We'd love to have your feedback!

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

By submitting, you agree to our , and .

Our Latest Reviews

Kalexsimm 3 days ago

FAMOUS CARNITAS

Best Carnitas around! Great ambiance and great drinks.

Matt 7 days ago

QUESO FUNDIDO

The go to party pleasing appetizer everyone will love. So good. You don't need a long winded review you just need to try it. Also be sure to sing your order que-so queso fun DI DO the staff will love you for it

Autumn 9 days ago

GRILLED FISH TACOS

My first time here and immediately as i walked in, I knew this place was authentic! The margaritas are freshly made with tequila you can taste! I chose these tacos because I never pass up a fish taco! These surely did not disappoint. Yummy grilled halibut thick pieces blended beautifully with fresh salsa and greens but not overtaking the taco. The halibut was the main star. Fresh avocado finishes it off! Great upbeat atmosphere. I hear the RHOC was filmed here! Im hoping to come back soon some day and try a new item on the menu, as everything looks delicious! Great service and friendly staff in little pretentious Laguna Beach! Lol!

Debbie 21 days ago

POLLO A LA CHIPOTLE

This restaurant came highly recommended. My family needed a little twist of their arm to eat Mexican. Boy oh boy were they surprised! The drinks were good, the chips and salsa are yummy and all of us really enjoyed our food. Oh! Our waiter?? He was very attentive. We'll be back!

Aubreylcarr about 1 month ago

AVOCADO TACOS

Guacamole was a good portion size for 4 to share! Avo tacos were perfectly seasoned. So nice to have some veggie options that don't skip out on flavor and abundance!

Koohzad about 2 months ago

CRAB JALAPENOS

Spicy and perfectly tender and filling !

Lv7920 3 months ago

CHILAQUILES

I haven't been to your breakfast but will try next weekend or so. I look forward to try your breakfast chilaquille, waffles and more. I wish you would have a menudo dish one day as i haven't yet found the one i like yet. I really want to understand why people crave for this dish. Wish you could also alternate new dishes since I know the menu by heart now:)

Lv7920 3 months ago

EL CLASSICO

I accidentally found Carmelitas about 4 years ago.. My family loves Mexican food very much and we've eaten at many different restaurants but it was much surprised that we love the dishes at Carmelitas. Fresh, tasty and delicious. Love the service, their staff from the bar tenders, servers and the cooks are happy and work hard to please customers. It was fun eating at the bar and watching the cooks enjoying their cooking that never fail us by far. We really enjoy the food and great service here. Our friends also said the same. Every time we crave for Mexican food we would always come here even though it's a bit of a drive.

Omjrjw 3 months ago

BBQ SMOKED RIBS

First and foremost the Cadillac margaritas are extremely good. The bartenders are very knowledgeable and welcoming. Every time I come I know I'm Going to receive too notch service . The chipotle ribs are incredible!

Briannalynngreen97 3 months ago

BBQ SMOKED RIBS

From the moment you walk in, it's an experience. The staff are all so sweet and accommodating. I love coming here for the great customer service and of course, the amazing food especially. It takes me an hour to get here especially in traffic and I NEVER regret the visit. It's always a pleasant time. Absolutely love the BBQ Smoked ribs. Tender meat. Tangy smoked sauce with a hint of sweetness. So perfect. Anything you get here is gonna be world changing. I would recommend this place to my closest friends and people to impress. Sooo yummy.

Kmalone16 3 months ago

MARISCO TRIO

Carmelita's is wonderful! We are from Dallas, TX and are Mexican food snobs. This place feels like home! The Marisco Trio was amazing! Service was great as well! Thank you Jasper!

Pdromo 4 months ago

POLLO A LA CHIPOTLE

This is one of my TOTAL FAVORITES EVER!!!! We've been to Carmelita's in Laguna Beach about a million times and have never been disappointed. We bring friends and family with us whenever we can.♥️

Smith22 4 months ago

AVOCADO TACOS

Absolutely delicious...just like my grandma used to make!

6papp 5 months ago

SEAFOOD ENCHILADAS

We love Carmelita's! Sooo much!! It's our favorite Mexican food restaurant! No actually it's our favorite restaurant or any kind! Their food and margaritas are simply the best!!

Mariaperezmcfarlane 6 months ago

MARISCO TRIO

My husband and I LOVE this place! We've literally never had a bad meal here, but my go-to is the Marisco Trio. The lobster enchilada is ridiculous- in the best possible way. The fresh ceviche is amazing, and we love their draft beer & tequila selection. Daniel, Kena, & Francisco took excellent care of us when were there this past Saturday. We can't wait to go back and experience more deliciousness!

Lisol815 6 months ago

QUESO FUNDIDO

I just loveeeee Daniel and the team here! They are awesome! The queso fundido is the best of the best!

Melissa 6 months ago

BLACKBERRY MARGARITA

My husband and I visit Carmelita's in Laguna Beach once every year ...all the way from Toronto! & we eat at Carmelita's almost every night! Never bored, a delicious variety of authentic mexican food and fresh beverages! We had tried the pineapple jalapeno margarita, the traditional and decided the Blackberry was the winner!... along with a stuffed poblano pepper on 1st night for me * the vegetarian* & my handsome hubby had an incredible giagantic burrito.... we always have the best time ever! Warm chips and guac to start... sexy and fun atmosphere! Friendly fun staff remembered us from last year!♡ if it weren't for Carmelita's and the fresh-squeezed juice down the road we probably wouldnt come back to Laguna every year♡ We drove from San Francisco all the way to California on the beautiful Coastal Highway! See you next year! Love Melissa & Brian!

Guest 6 months ago

OAXACAN MARGARITA

The best ever !

Jevorneisaac 7 months ago

POMEGRANATE MARGARITA

We went there last year for lunch as part of celebrating my Bday so Sept 9th. The food was on good. We're had tacos if some kind but it's the dubious that we're unforgettable. They were fantastic. We had two margaritas and they were killer.

Lubugs 7 months ago

CHILE VERDE

Best Chili Verde you will find anywhere!!! and the habanero salsa...YUM. Honestly, everything is fantastic but for starters the crab jalapenos and shrimp taquitos are a must try and don't pass up the classico which is just a great plate of food

Andrew 4 days ago

BLACKENED BURRITO

Best burrito ever!!!

Sonytrojan 7 days ago

SEAFOOD ENCHILADAS

When Javier's closed for vacation, my wife and I were disappointed. Did some research, found Carmelita's and we fell in love. This is our new spot!

Cnadesign 10 days ago

BEEF FLAUTAS

We had a party of 10 visiting from San Diego, the service was friendly and helpful! The margaritas were exceptional! Everyone was happy with their meal! Shrimp Diablas, beef flautas, carnitas, chimichanga, el pastor...I could go on! Every dish was delish! Now when I crave Mexican food, we are going to need to make the 1 hour drive north! It is really that good!

Marc 22 days ago

CHILE VERDE

I ordered it "spicy" and couldn't be happier with my dish! Well seasoned and prepared, accented in habanero juices, the Chile Verde was exceptional and was a great first taste for me of Carmelita's. We were also lucky enough to sample the Street Tacos on blue corn tortillas and they were exceptional as well. My dining partner came for the black bean dip but the homemade red salsa made it for me. Despite a full meal of generous portions, I couldn't help but think about having more Chile Verde for the rest of the night--I'll definitely be back!

Plwalk45 about 1 month ago

GRILLED FISH TACOS

I live in Boston but visit Laguna Beach each year for a work event. I always make a point to visit Carmelita's at least once during my visit and this year did not disappoint. I had the fish tacos which were phenomenal and of course, the made-to-order guacamole. Not only is the food fantastic at Carmelita's, the drinks are so yummy and the atmosphere can't be beat. Counting the days until my next trip to the the West Coast!

Drchemene 2 months ago

SEAFOOD ENCHILADAS

The seafood enchiladas were AMAZING. Definitely would order again. They were full of delicious crab and shrimp in every bite. You must try them

Lv7920 3 months ago

GRILLED FISH TACOS

Fresh n tasty

Ysupan 3 months ago

LOBSTER CHILE RELLENOS

Hi I had the sea food trio. Honestly, this is the best Mexican seafood I have EVER had!

Nancymahdavi 3 months ago

GUACAMOLE

We love Carmelita's and have trouble visiting any other restaurants since we have been coming to Laguna Beach regularly for the past few years. Although their food is beautiful and delicious, we honestly come for the service and the fun bar experience. Omar, Ruby, Alex and Daniel always treat us like family and that keeps us coming back. Love the crispy tacos and guac at Happy Hour and their house bean dip with secret Habanero sauce on the side is to die for! You won't regret stopping into this place!

Shalakhaleghi 3 months ago

LOBSTER CHILE RELLENOS

Omg the food is amazing. We are fans of Carmelitas this location and the one in RSM and we have yet to try the one in Manhattan Beach. Great food, service, drinks and ambiance!!!! Highly recommend as they use nothing but the best ingredients and products. Top rated and one of our favs.

Barajas 4 months ago

QUESO FUNDIDO

cheese, gooey delicious always get to accompany your fine meal at carmelitas

Suebca 4 months ago

BBQ SMOKED RIBS

Me encanta ..i loved the bbq short ribs with corn...nice and light dish for the summer bit filling ...low carbs. I always eat tacos, fajitas but wanted something different. Mme..

Felicia 4 months ago

CHILAQUILES

AMAZING!!! Margarita's too.

Kristenmtal 5 months ago

CILANTRO CUCUMBER

I combine this margarita with the spicy one by asking the bartender to add some serrano chile to it, and it is the best margarita I've ever had. I've been to Carmelita's countless times and tried almost the entire menu, it's the perfect spot after a day on the beach, and summer isn't the same until I've had one of these margaritas. The fresh ingredients and the cucumber/cilantro with a hint of spice from the chile, nothing beats it!

Hillycollective 6 months ago

BREAKFAST BURRITO

Ok If your in Laguna Beach for more than 30 minutes you need to come into Carmelitas and treat yourself to a breakfast burrito! It's one of my favorites and it will get me through the day! And the their salsa is something special. I might have a small addiction to the chips salsa and black bean dip!!

Me 6 months ago

POMEGRANATE MARGARITA

Absolutely amazing, Summer drink all day!

Guy 6 months ago

BBQ SMOKED RIBS

Incredibly tender ribs with excellent ancho chile rub/sauce and "street" corn on the cob too!

Alexandratorbensen 6 months ago

SEAFOOD ENCHILADAS

Really good enchiladas. My first time there and I loved the food, atmosphere and the staff. We came in on a really busy night so the service was a bit slow but we were not complaining at all however the bartender was aware of that fact that we got less attention and gave us a shot - super awesome And totally worth the wait for those enchiladas! I'll definitely be back.

Sparkylu952 7 months ago

TACOS AL PASTOR

So good I went back the next day ... and the next!



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

October:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co., Portland, OR

September:
Amanda, Home Restaurant, Los Angeles, CA

August:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill - Columbus, GA

July:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet - Buffalo, NY

June:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar - Cape Cod, MA

May:
Karen, This Little Pig - Amherst, NY

April:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria - Atlanta, GA